Rising Sun Tavern
Now owned and operated by Washington Heritage Museums. For information on hours and admission, please visit their website.
Built by George Washington's younger brother Charles around 1760 as his home, this frame building became a tavern in 1792, operating as a stopover for travelers in the bustling town of Fredericksburg.
Preservation Virginia acquired Rising Sun Tavern in 1907. A complete restoration took place in the 1930s. Much of the woodwork in the tavern is original. The building was operated as a museum by the Mary Washington Branch of Preservation Virginia. In 2013, Preservation Virginia offered the opportunity for local ownership of its Fredericksburg sites. As of January 3, 2013, Washington Heritage Museums (formerly Mary Washington Branch Preservation Virginia) officially assumed responsibilities to continue oversight of these properties. Preservation Virginia memberships will be honored throughout 2013. For more information, visit their website.
Visitors to the site will experience a colorful introduction to eighteenth-century tavern life through a lively, tour of the tavern by a costumed interpreter including stops in the tap room, private dining room, and public and private accomodations.