2020 Preservation Awards Ceremony

Sep 25, 2020

6:30 pm — 9:00 pm

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Preservation Awards ceremony must be postponed until 2021. Award winners will be recognized this year in a virtual format through online interviews about their work and impact on history in the Commonwealth. Interviews will be released in September, 2020. This year’s award winners are:

Trustees’ Award- David M. Rubenstein, Washington D.C.

This award was established to honor excellence and commitment to the foundational goals of Preservation Virginia.  Though not given annually, the Trustee’s Award is an opportunity to acknowledge people who have embraced the transformative nature of historic preservation to strengthen communities, the Commonwealth and the nation. This year’s honoree is David M. Rubenstein for his transformational work in “patriotic philanthropy.” Mr. Rubenstein’s commitment to Virginia’s places of memory is fostering honest narratives of the many perspectives of our history and has been a catalyst for a transformation in how history is perceived by the public.

Young Preservationist of the Year- Chloe Shelton, Roanoke

Chloe Shelton was chosen for this year’s Young Preservationist of the Year Award for her efforts to bring local history to life by writing and directing two films— Til I Come Home and Cotton Clouds— based on Roanoke’s rich history; as well as her efforts involving other young people interested in film and history. The Young Preservationist of the Year Award recognizes a person twenty-five years of age or younger, who has made a notable contribution to preservation in Virginia. This award not only recognizes excellence, but also the profound need to attract young people to Virginia’s preservation movement.

The Gabriella Page Outstanding Preservation Project Award- Sharon D. Virts and Scott F. Miller, Leesburg, and Isabel Thornton and Restoration Housing, Roanoke

Named for Preservation Virginia’s longtime past president this award recognizes a property owner, architect, design firm, contractor or developer for a residential, commercial or public-sector project that best exemplifies the use of preservation standards and brings an outstanding building into appropriate and relevant contemporary use. This year two recipients received the Gabriella Page Award—Restoration Housing for Villa Heights and Selma Mansion.

Outstanding Preservation Achievement- EJ Scott, Manassas

EJ Scott was awarded the Louis J. Malon Outstanding Preservation Achievement Award, which recognizes an individual who inspires others by their commitment, leadership and vision for helping instill a historic preservation ethic in others. The Louis J. Malon Outstanding Preservation Achievement Award was given to Ms. Scott for her research and advocacy protecting the historic Post-Emancipation community of Carver Road in Prince William County, saving the Liberty Street African American houses in Manassas; as well as her service on the Virginia Women’s Monument Commission.

Outstanding Community Preservation- Virginia Beach Historic Preservation Commission, Virginia Beach

The Katherine Glaize Rockwood Community Preservation Award recognizes an individual, group or activity that has made a significant contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Virginia. This year the award was given to Mark Reed and the Virginia Beach Historic Preservation Commission for their innovative preservation program, which includes a historic marker project, a grants program (that has helped to tell previously overlooked stories in Virginia Beach) and an elementary school education project. The Virginia Beach Commission was also instrumental in supporting and raising funds for the recent dune restoration at Cape Henry Lighthouse.

Outstanding Historic Preservation Research Efforts- Halifax County Historical Society, Halifax and Literacy InterActives, Inc. and the Parker Sydnor Historic Site, Clarksville

The George W.G. Stoner and Melville Jennings Research and Education Award recognizes an individual or entity that has made a significant contribution to the cause of historic preservation or archaeology in Virginia through research, interpretation or education. Two nominees, the Halifax County Historical Society and Literacy Interactives, Inc., were awarded the George W.G. Stoner and Melville Jennings Research and Education Award this year.

Tickets are $250, and sponsorship opportunities are available. At $1,000, receive two tickets and your name or company logo listed in the event program. $2,500 sponsors receive five tickets, and $5,000 secures an entire table. Sponsors are also invited to a pre-ceremony reception with the award winners.

Generously sponsored by

For more information on sponsorships, contact Will Glasco at (804) 648-1889 ext. 311 or

Register online and get your tickets before they sell out!