Press Release


Preservation Virginia to recognize trailblazers across the Commonwealth

–April 3 gala will also honor business leader, philanthropist and author David M. Rubenstein

RICHMOND, Va. (March 4, 2020)—Preservation Virginia’s Historic Preservation Awards on April 3, 2020, at the Bolling Haxall House will recognize innovative initiatives that include rehabilitating historic structures for reuse as affordable housing in Roanoke; spearheading a historic marker project in Virginia Beach and the dune restoration project at Cape Henry Lighthouse; and the extensive researching of Halifax County historic properties that was then published as a book.

“While our award recipients represent widely different areas of expertise, they share a common bond,” said Preservation Virginia CEO Elizabeth S. Kostelny. “They are helping Virginia’s communities and historic places of memory become stronger, more vital and economically sustainable through preservation, education and advocacy.”

“We are inspired by these award recipients, and their commitment, creativity and tenacity,” she added.

Noted business leader and author David M. Rubenstein will be also be honored that evening with a “Trustees’ Award for Exceptional Achievement” for his commitment to historic preservation projects at Mount Vernon, Montpelier and Monticello, among many others, and his belief that a more informed citizenry comes from studying our history.

Rubenstein, Co-founder and Co-Executive Chairman of The Carlyle Group, a global investment firm, is also the author of The American Story, Conversations with Master Historians, featuring insights from noted historian Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Pulitzer Prize winning authors Jon Meacham and Robert Caro.

“David M. Rubenstein embraces the concept that preservation efforts must strive to capture the complexities of our history by examining all perspectives through honest narratives. We are delighted to honor him with this award during this very special evening,” said Kostelny.

Below is a full list of the 2020 Historic Preservation Award recipients:

The Young Preservationist of the Year– Chloe Shelton, Roanoke

Outstanding Preservation Project– Sharon D. Virts and Scott F. Miller, Selma Mansion, Leesburg

Outstanding Preservation Project– Isabel Thornton and Restoration Housing, Villa Heights, Roanoke

Outstanding Preservation Achievement– EJ Scott, Manassas

Outstanding Community Preservation– Virginia Beach Historic Preservation Commission, Virginia Beach

Outstanding Historic Preservation Research Efforts– Halifax County Historical Society, Halifax

Outstanding Historic Preservation Research Efforts – Literacy InterActives, Inc. and the Parker Sydnor Historic Site, Clarksville

About Preservation Virginia

Preservation Virginia, a privately-owned, nonprofit historic preservation leader founded more than 130 years ago, works to ensure the relevancy of the Commonwealth’s historic places. In addition to advocacy work, Preservation Virginia owns and operates six historic locations open to the public, including Bacon’s Castle (1665) and Smith’s Fort Plantation (c.1761) in Surry County; Patrick Henry’s Scotchtown (c. 1719) in Hanover County; Historic Jamestowne (1607); the Cape Henry Lighthouse (1792) in Virginia Beach and the John Marshall House (1790) in Richmond.